Perks of Morning Runs

RUN-IN-THE-MORNING

Today I ran at 6am again and decided that I’m going to run at 6am every weekday- so 5 days a week. Robert wasn’t going to do it with me because he has multiple torn ligaments in his knees, but we decided that he could ride my Bianchi bike while I ran (so that a raper in a white van won’t steal me up during my run). So that’s the new plan.

I’ve always wondered what the difference was between running in the morning and running at night. I thought for a long time that it was exactly the same- as long as you exercised, no matter what time of day, it was good.

I liked running at night because the accumulated stress from during the day could be blown off during my evening run, I like showering at night so I can flat iron my hair in the morning, and I always thought running in the morning would make me feel sick because I would be running on an empty stomach. Also, I never thought I could make myself wake up so early in the morning for an optional activity. However, I read an article talking about the benefits so I thought I would give it another try.

I love running in the morning now. The air is cleaner and brisk, it wakes you up, and you can take advantage of your metabolism being a little faster throughout the day from the exercise. I felt a little sick the first morning I ran, but now my body is used to it. Showering in the morning is not a problem anymore because I decided I don’t want to flat iron it every day because it’s bad for my hair anyway. Also, when I was packing my breakfast and lunch today, I decided that I didn’t want to eat take the pretzels and extra Werther’s Original candy I packed last night. AND once I got to work, I decided I didn’t want to eat my allotted lemon Oreo and Werther’s Original candy at all! I feel clean and healthy and I don’t want to undo all the good I did by eating a bunch of sugar.

It’s weird- whenever I ran at night, I never felt like reducing my sugar intake, but now that I run in the morning, it’s like I’m more conscious of what I’m putting into my body throughout the day. The article I read said this would happen, but I didn’t think it would happen to me. I don’t know if it will last, but even going for one day feeling like I don’t need sugar is amazing and worth it.

Perks of Morning Runs

Leave a Reply

